Rotating Bridge

The rotating bridge has an iron structure resting on solid foundation (first made of timber and later was replaced by concrete), with a system of gears connected to a motor that rotates the bridges, but for some time that operation has not been  performed. 

The rotation allows the passage of vessels, and also the trains when that huge frame is perpendicular to the river with its two heads attached to the devices located in the land, one in the neighborhood of Pueblo Nuevo and another in Matanzas.

  

Puente_Giratorio_2011

Rotating Bridge Today

The great work of the steel structure engineer came from the United States, was conducted in part to Matanzas in 1903 by the steamer Olinda, and mounted about 50 meters from the mouth of the river current. 
 
In the city of Matanzas once there were other bridges, but of stone, but in 281 years of such constructive experiences among those elegant buildings with the pedestals in the water, the only ever washed away have been the Rotary and one named The Butcher located near the Plaza del Mercado, who was inaugurated in 1834, and replaced in 1882 by another wooden one. The Rotating Bridge withstood the fierce floods caused by frequent weather events that hit this area as the flood of 1953

 Puente-Giratorio-durante-la-Inundacin-de1953

Rotating bridge during the flood of 1953


Unique of its kind in the country, the swing bridge still in service "first opened on April 8, 1904 when the train #117 from the Santa Catalina sugar factory went over it" according to chronicles of the time, apparently loaded with sugar. 

 
The construction of this bridge in San Juan, and another small fixed one lying on the river Yumurí accelerated the development of sugar 
transportation, initiated in Matanzas from the second half of the nineteenth century, and increased the likelihood of import and exports of general goods into the docks deep water docks.